An iconic building in Brooklyn has won landmark status.
The former Childs Restaurant on Surf Avenue is now protected by the city.
The building is the current home to the Coney Island Museum and the headquarters for the Mermaid Parade.
Built in 1917, it paid tribute to the old world Spanish and Mediterranean revival styles, with a red tile roof, round-arch openings and a white façade.
It was the first restaurant built in Coney Island as part of a chain.
Another Childs location was opened on the Boardwalk in 1923 -- that one is also designated a landmark.